Building Pluralistic Society in Central Asia: Internal Dynamics and External Influence

ROUNDTABLE
“Building Pluralistic Society in Central Asia: Internal Dynamics and External Influence”
May 30, 2016
KIMEP University, Valikhanov Building, Hall# 237

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Program

10:00-10:15       OPENING
Nargis Kassenova (KIMEP University)
Galym Zhussipbek (Suleyman Demirel University)
Kairat Moldashev (Suleyman Demirel University)

10:15-11:30
MODERATOR:  Kairat Moldashev
Galym Zhussipbek: ISLAMIC (HANAFI-MATURIDI) DYNAMICS OF BUILDING PLURALISTIC AND JUST SOCIETY”

11:30-12:30 Coffee Break and Networking


Organizers / Организаторы

The round table was organized with the support of NOVA Academy and the KIMEP University Central Asian Studies Center (CASC), under the project “How to Build a Pluralist Society in Kazakhstan? The Marriage Between Islam and Liberal Values” funded by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Круглый стол организован при поддержке NOVA Academy и Центра Изучения Центральной Азии (CASC), в рамках проекта «Построение плюралистической модели общества в Казахстане. Как добиться симбиоза ислама (суннитского толка) и либеральных ценностей» по бюджетной программе: 217 «Развитие науки», подпрограмме 102 «Грантовое финансирование научных исследований» Министерства Образования и Науки Республики Казахстан.


Participants / Участники

Galym Zhussipbek: Department of International Relations ( European security, security in the post-Soviet region, economic, social and religious situation in Central Asia, state-religion relations), Suleyman Demirel University galym.zhussipbek@sdu.edu.kz

Nargis Kassenova: Associate Professor / Director of Central Asian Studies Center (Central Asian security; Asian security; Eurasian geopolitics; Eurasian energy security; political development in Central Asia) Department of IR and Regional Studies, KIMEP U, Almaty nargis@kimep.kz

Kairat Moldashev: Assistant Professor (Eurasian Economic Union, Eurasian regionalism, identity and politics), The Department of Business and Economics, Suleyman Demirel University. kairat.moldashev@sdu.edu.kz

Dina Iglikova: independent consultant for private and public sector, one of the speakers at CASC dina.iglikova@gmail.com

Nicolas ZambranaTévar: Law Department,KIMEP U,Almaty nicolaszambranatevar@hotmail.com

Zhar  Zardykhan: Assistant Professor (Ethnic and Religious Conflicts; Eurasian History;Central Asian Politics; Islamic History; Nationalism and Minorities), KIMEP University zhar@kimep.kz

Dr.Jeff Jones: University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Assistant Professor of History (Russian-Soviet history) jwjones@uncg.edu

Larry Checco: President of Checco Communications and a nationally sought-after speaker and workshop facilitator on leadership, organizational management and branding. He also serves as a consultant to both large and small nonprofit organizations, companies, foundations and government agencies larry.checco@verizon.net

Herbert Weiss: an Emeritus Professor of Political Science at City University of New York and a Senior Fellow at the Ralph Bunche Institute of International Studies, New York City (nationalism, independence struggles, mass mobilization, protest, democratization, elections, decentralization and the role of militia) herb@herbweiss.com

Mary Louise Buley-Meissner: Professor ( Hmong American Studies, Asian American Literature Spirituality Across Cultures) Marquette University meissner@uwm.edu

Daniel J. Meissner: Associate Professor, historian of Modern China, specializing in early Chinese industrialization and Sino-American diplomatic relations, Marquette University daniel.meissner@marquette.edu

Rasit Telbisoglu: Program Director of Rumi Forum rasit@rumiforum.org

William Piekos: Ph.D. Student in Political Science at University of Pennsylvania ( International Relations and Comparative Politics) wpiekos@sas.upenn.edu

Zhanar Nagayeva: Independent researcher (finance, political science, sociology, education, psychology) zhanar.n2012@yandex.ru

 

Comments are closed.